Baking is hard!

Remember all that stuff I said about baking being kinda easy, just make slop, take a pic and bam, food blog?!  Well, baking is hard!

This morning I set out to complete the rest of my Fruit and Crockpot Mania by making chicken stock, apple pie and pear muffins.  For the pear muffins, I wanted to use the Hazelnut flour I bought (pear-hazelnut-cardamom, sounds good right?) and I was also determined not to make the same mistake with the coconut flour that I did yesterday, although when I brought those muffins to work, they were gone before lunch.

But, it was hard! Wah!

I first put the chicken stock on (still hope, there).  Then I started on the pie crust.  I found one recipe, that seemed like it was going to be good, but it wasn’t enough! It didn’t even cover the bottom of the pie tin.  But I didn’t have enough eggs to make another one!  So I used flax seed and corn starch to make a second, from this recipe from Jane’s Health Kitchen. AND, because I was in a rush, I used 1 tbsp. honey instead of the chicory, because, surprise! I didn’t have that either.

Grain-free-Coconut-pie-crust-540x359

How the crust was supposed to look.

So the crust came out and in the meantime, I realized I didn’t want to waste my apples on it if it wasn’t good. So I took some of the fruit I had prepared for yesterdays pie and threw it in, even though it smelled kind of fermented.  Moving on.

So I put the first pie crust on top of the fruit in the hopes of having it be some kind of “crumble” and put the pie in.  It doesn’t “look” so bad, and actually doesn’t taste so bad either.  Though, you can see it’s definitely got more of the crumble consistency that I was going for! Win!

13 - 2(1) 13 - 3

This was hard.  I decided I need to step back and re-evaluate my pear muffin and apple pie plans and perhaps buy some more eggs.  Stayed tuned…

Update!

I decided to go with the more delicious looking zenbelly muffins, and substituted hazelnut flour for almond flour, corn starch for arrowroot starch, used butter instead of shortening and kept some whole diced pears in the mix, adding some cinnamon.  Check out this batter!

13 - 4(1)

And I am ECSTATIC to report that the muffins came out absolutely perfect:

13 - 4

Pear Cardamom Muffins *Amended recipe

makes one dozen muffins

3 ripe pears (about 1 1/2 pounds), diced
3 eggs
¼ C soft butter
3 tablespoons honey
1 ¼  C hazelnut flour
½ C corn starch
3 T coconut flour
1 t baking soda
1 t ground cardamom (plus more for sprinkling on top, optional)
½ t ground cinnamon (plus more for sprinkling on top, optional)
⅛ teaspoon salt

  1. Preheat oven to 350 and grease muffin pans
  2. Dice the pears and sautee them all in some water, cardamom, cinnamon and honey until soft.
  3. Place HALF the pears in a blender with the eggs, honey and butter. Blend until smooth.
  4. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flours, starch, baking soda, cardamom, cinnamon and salt.
  5. Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir to combine. Scoop into muffin tin and bake for 20-25 minutes, or until cooked through.

I think the apple pie is going to have to wait for another day.  Whew, baking is tiring!!

About alissafoo

Oscar Wilde once said, “To get back my youth I would do anything in the world, except take exercise, get up early, or be respectable.” And now I'm doing all those things in order to do just that.

2 responses to “Baking is hard!

  1. Abby Mayou

    The muffins look fantastic! As soon as I have an oven I will try to make some. And other things too!!! The fruit crumble looks great too. That is one of my favorite desserts.

Leave a Reply

Balancing Paleo

Living, loving and laughing my way towards a balanced paleo life.

Dr. Bernard Lown's Blog

Dr. Bernard Lown's Personal Blog

The Lown Conversation

Exploring the health care crisis through intergenerational conversation between Dr. Bernard Lown, a cardiologist and Nobel Peace Prize recipient, and his granddaughter Melanie Lown, a communications professional (and modern patient).

The Odd Spot

Your Health. Your Way

hungry and fit

A young couple focused on great workouts and feasting well -- all on a low budget!

Movement For Improvement

Both the researcher and the guinea pig to optimising health

get foo'd.

funny. healthy. food.

The Domestic Man

Gluten-free & Paleo-friendly recipes, inspired by traditional & international cuisines. New recipes every Tuesday.

Clean Eating with a Dirty Mind

Culinary Adventures in Paleo Cooking

Rockin' Fit Noms

Eat. Sweat. Dance. Laugh.

The Bootstrap Compost Experience

The Dirt Behind Greater Boston's Food Scrap Go-Getters

Reembody

You Are Stronger Than You Think

Gone 'til September

foo'd for thought.

The Paleo Hygienist

Paleo Principles for Optimal Oral Health and Beyond.

PaleoHikerMD

REAL FOOD, REAL HEALTH, REAL ADVENTURE, REAL FAMILY

Pint-Sized Paleo

Seriously, I would sit and eat goldfish and oreos all day if I had it in my house. (Well pre-paleo I would have) But if it's not good for me, how on earth is it good for my baby?!?! So now, we are living a paleo / primal lifestyle, on a budget, with a baby!

Austrian Adaptation

Expat life in Austria & Part-time Travel

Living Body Wellness

Living Body Wellness

